Skip to content

Google Presentation: A Great Way to Play Abstract Games By Email

July 11, 2010

Quick tip regarding how to play abstract games by Email:  Make a Google Presentation in Google Documents consisting of a board and pieces, and then share it with your opponent using Google’s sharing functionality.  It’s very simple and you can make the graphics as nice as you want.  Truly, this is waaay better than using ascii (I’m looking at you Bill Taylor).  Here’s what it looks like:

 

From → Essays

8 Comments
  1. Daniel permalink

    Thanks for the idea!We played with the drawing part of google docs. Check out our game. When there’s a long time between moves or the board is super full we have a player marker so that we know who’s turn it is and the last move is done in a lighter color.It’s easy to upload preexisting files and move them around btw.https://docs1.google.com/drawings/edit?id=1HuJnS9VgVBRpyUjSlG-y7UkWlYRwq60bAh

  2. Nick Bentley permalink

    Excellent.  I'm curious: how is Fractal to play?

  3. Daniel permalink

    I’ve enjoyed it very much actually and I look forward to more plays. If you want to try it I have a board set up here:https://docs1.google.com/drawings/edit?id=1HuJnS9VgVBRpyUjSlG-y7UkWlYRwq60bAh…just let me know and I’ll change the permissions 😀

  4. Nick Bentley permalink

    Ok, let's have a go!  Warning: I may not make my moves superfast (probably 1/day or fewer), because work is very busy, but if you're ok with that, let's rumble.

  5. Daniel permalink

    Just send me your email and I’ll invite you to a game.  I don’t have so much time either so that’s fine by me.

  6. dave permalink

    Do you know if Google Presentation has a layering system? I’m working on a game that has stackable pieces and I tried using taebl.com to prototype/test it, but it didn’t really have good features for layering.If it does, I may just be able to use it.

  7. Nick Bentley permalink

    I don't think Google presentation has a layering system, at least in the sense that say, photoshop has one.  That said, you can easily represent stacked pieces in Google presentation, because you can put shapes or objects on top of other objects in presentation. So I'm guessing it will probably work for your purpose. 

Leave a Reply

